Weiser Elks present awards during hoop shooters breakfast

Philip A. Janquart
The Weiser Elks Lodge hosted a breakfast on Saturday, honoring the winners of the 52nd annual Elks Hoop Shoot that took place Jan. 6, 2024.
 Participants and their families enjoyed waffles and other breakfast mainstays followed by presentations. Each winner received a framed certificate and had their picture taken.
 “This is the first year we’ve done this,” said Elks Hoop Shoop coordinator Darrel Krause.
 Krause has been involved with the competition for 40 years and has organized it for 10 years.
 “It was kind of my daughter’s idea,” he said of the breakfast, which was organized by his daughter Suzie Walker. “It’s always hard to get awards out to the kids because they are so busy doing other things, so she thought it would be a good idea to have a breakfast and invite them all here. The ones that can’t make it, we’ll get their award to them.”
 Over half of the dozen first and second place winners showed up for the breakfast.
 The Elks Hoop Shoot is a big deal in Weiser, the long-time event drawing the best free-throw shooters in town. The competition is split between boys and girls, with age groups consisting of 8-9 years of age, 10-11, and 12-13. Those moving on to the district event have the chance to qualify for the state competition. If successful there, winners can move on to the national competition.
 Krause said there were no hoop shooters that qualified for the state competition this year. 
 During the breakfast, he offered his thanks to all those who volunteered their time, including his daughter Suzie Walker, Terry Mooney, and Jhonna Eldridge with the Weiser Recreation Department.
 “Jhonna is a big help; she does all the paperwork and keeps it all straight,” Krause said. “Terry helps me with the Hoop Shoot every year and I couldn’t do it without him.”
 Krause said the biggest reason he has been involved for so long is the kids.
 “I really enjoy them,” he said. “That’s really the only reason I do it. It’s the relationships I build with the families and the kids. I’ve made a lot of friends over the years.”
Division winners
 Girls 8-9: Kenni Harrison, first; Corbyn Dickerson, second.
 Boys 8-9: Isiah Velasco, first; Nathan Tracy, second.
 Girls 10-11: Ava Shirts, first; Adahlei McFetridge, second. 
 Boys 10-11: Weston Schreiner, first; Holmes Walker, second.
 Girls 12-13: Claire Walker, first; Alyvia Goff, second.
 Boys 12-13: Hudson Kovak, first; Liam Marples, second.


Signal American

18 E. Idaho St.
Weiser, ID 83672
PH: (208) 549-1717
FAX: (208) 549-1718

Connect with Us