2023 Weiser High School graduates reach long-awaited day

There were 140 graduates that participated in the 2023 Weiser High School commencement ceremony held Sunday, May 21.

Weiser High School ASB President Kasey Kautz addresses a packed crowd at the school gymnasium at Sunday’s graduation ceremony. Photo by Philip A. Janquart
Philip A. Janquart
Weiser High School’s 124th graduation ceremony was held on Sunday, May 21, with 140 seniors receiving their diplomas.
 Commencement began with a welcome from WHS Senior Class President Brian Juarez, Vice President Kate Davies, and Secretary Emily Christopherson.
 “We were all very fortunate to have grown up in a town like Weiser,” Juarez said, addressing a packed gymnasium. “I know that many of us are itching to get out of here and start the next part of our lives, but as you move forward, don’t forget the lessons you’ve learned and the memories you’ve made. Cherish your experiences and use them to shape who you are. I wish every single one of you success and happiness in every endeavor you choose to pursue.”
 Weiser High School Principal Dave Davies offered some remarks on behalf of Weiser School District Superintendent Wade Wilson and the Board of Trustees.
 He thanked current WHS faculty for their dedication before recognizing four long-time teaching staff that are set to retire following the 2022-23 school year.
 They include Pioneer School’s Joya Hill and Holly Davies.
 “Thank you for making a difference in the lives of so many people,” Davies said of the teachers.
 Next was David Shirts who worked for the WSD for 25 years and is a 41-year veteran educator.
 Finally, Davies recognized Superintendent Wilson who led the district through challenging years that were largely defined by the pandemic.
 Honor speakers included ASB President and Honor Graduate Kasey Kautz, and ASB Vice President and Honor Graduate Macy Maloney.
 Maloney thanked faculty, staff, and parents for their support, highlighting the ups and downs over the last four years, and ending with a sense of optimism while offering up a challenge.
 “Who are we? We are the generation of dreamers, doers, and change makers. We are diverse, talented, and resilient. We are capable of achieving great things and making a positive impact on the world.,” she said. “As we move forward in life, we will face many challenges; we will face setbacks, failures, and disappointments, but we will also face triumphs, successes, and moments of pure joy. It is important that we embrace both the good and bad, that we learn from our mistakes, and never give up on our dreams … I challenge you, the Class of 2023 to always be a good human and to choose kindness.”
 Kautz also spoke of the ups and downs his class has experienced, particularly the COVID years, and the loss of classmates and staff, but also spoke of the support of the Wolverine family.
 “As we leave, know that you are not alone. We are part of a larger community of graduates who have come before us and who will come after us,” he said. “We are part of a network of people that have shared similar experiences and understand the highs and lows of this moment. 
 “Take comfort in the fact that our experiences have prepared us for the challenges ahead; and take comfort in the fact that even as we leave, we will always be a part of this community that supports us every step of the way … It’s Ok to be sad today, but remember, as we step into the next stage of our lives, we are also stepping into a future full of promise and possibility.” 
 The WHS Chamber Singers, under the direction of Mike Turner, and the WHS band, under the direction of Jake Fortin, performed during the commencement.
 The following special scholarships and awards were presented:
 Tom R. Falash Scholarship – Brady Reed.
 Harry Reeves Scholarship – Kate Davies.
 Larry and Rolaine Hansen Family Scholarship – Shayla Kelley, Roma Walker, Brayden Walker.
 Just Believe Scholarship in memory of Larry Goto – Logan Villa (Indianhead Academy) and Brooklynn Jensen.
 Charles Gill Humanitarian Scholarship Award – Shayla Kelley.
 Babe Ruth Award – Roma Walker and Michael Youngberg.
 Distinguished Citizenship Award – Shayla Kelley and Brian Juarez.



Signal American

18 E. Idaho St.
Weiser, ID 83672
PH: (208) 549-1717
FAX: (208) 549-1718

Connect with Us